

Opioid Prescribing Work Group

Agenda—December 14, 2015 12:45 – 3:45 PM Room 5137 <u>MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN</u> <u>OPWG webpage (www.dhs.state.mn.us/opwg)</u>

Please check in at the reception desk on 1st floor for visitor's badge and escort

Instructions for non-members:

- If attending in person, register in advance with <u>OPWG staff</u> in order to arrange for a badge and escort.
- You may instead view a <u>live-streaming webcast</u> of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link will become active at approximately 12:15.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives

(1) Refine and approve protocol domains; (2) Discuss the content for domains 1 - 4 (i.e., assess and document function; assess and document pain; assess physical health contra-indications/risks; assess mental health and substance use contraindications, including family history)

Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Welcome and introductions; OPWG logistics; and DHS updates	12:45 - 1:00
2.	Protocol domains: prescribing for acute pain	
	Recap of meeting 1 discussions	1:00 – 1:10
	Opportunity for public comment	1:10 - 1:20
	Discussion and vote	1:20 - 2:00
	BREAK	2:00 - 2:15
3.	Discuss content of protocol domains $1 - 4$ on the handout	
	• Presentation	2:15 - 2:30
	Opportunity for public comment	2:30 - 2:40
	• Discussion	2:40 - 3:40
4.	Next steps	3:40 - 3:45

Next Meeting:

A standing meeting time will for future meetings will be announced.

OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- 1. Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- 2. Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- 3. Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- 4. Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Native American Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- 5. Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- 6. Chris Johnson, MD, Emergency Physicians Professional Association (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- 7. Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- 8. Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- 9. Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- 10. **Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP,** Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- 11. Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- 12. Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- 13. Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- 14. Alvaro Sanchez, MD, Medica (health plan medical director)
- 15. Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- 16. Sgt. Matthew J. St. George, Minneapolis Police Department (law enforcement)
- 17. Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office (medical examiner)

Staff

 Ellie Garrett, JD, Minnesota Department of Human Services <u>dhs.opioid@state.mn.us</u> 651-431-5841