

Opioid Prescribing Work Group

Agenda—January 25, 2016 12:30 – 3:30 p.m. Room 5137

MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN OPWG webpage (www.dhs.state.mn.us/opwg)

Please check in at the reception desk on 1st floor for visitor's badge

Instructions for non-members:

- If attending in person, register in advance with <u>OPWG staff</u> in order to arrange for a badge and escort.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the OPWG webpage will become active at approximately 12:15.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments
 and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives

(1) Discuss and vote on prescription dose and duration; (2) Discuss and vote on concomitant use of benzodiazepines and other concerning drugs, considerations regarding acute pain related or unrelated to a patient's chronic pain, diagnostic specificity and/or exclusions, use of the PMP and alternatives to opioids

Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome to new member, Dana Farley (MDH); DHS updates	12:30 - 12:40
2.	Approval of November and December minutes	12:40 - 12:45
3.	Recap of meeting 2 discussions	12:45 – 12:55
4.	Protocol domains: dose and duration for use immediately after index event	
	Opportunity for public comment	12:55 - 1:05
	Discussion and vote	1:05 - 2:00
	BREAK	2:00 – 2:15
5.	Protocol domains: concomitant use of benzodiazepines and other concerning drugs, considerations regarding acute pain related or unrelated to a patient's chronic pain, diagnostic specificity and/or exclusions, use of the PMP and alternatives to opioids in primary care	
	Opportunity for public comment	2:15 – 2:25

Discussion and vote 2:25 – 3:25

6. Next steps 3:25-3:30

Next Meeting:

Thursday, February 18, 2016 12:00 – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139, DHS, 444 Lafayette Rd N, St Paul

OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- **Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP,** Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Native American Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Chris Johnson, MD, Emergency Physicians Professional Association (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Alvaro Sanchez, MD, Medica (health plan medical director)
- Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Sgt. Matthew J. St. George, Minneapolis Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office (medical examiner)

Staff

 Ellie Garrett, JD, Minnesota Department of Human Services <u>dhs.opioid@state.mn.us</u> 651-431-5841