

Opioid Prescribing Work Group

Agenda—May 19, 2016 12:00 noon – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139

MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN OPWG webpage (www.dhs.state.mn.us/opwg)

Instructions for non-members:

- If attending in person, register in advance with <u>OPWG staff</u> in order to arrange for a badge and escort.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the OPWG webpage will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives

Review final draft acute pain prescribing recommendations. Review and discuss preliminary analysis of opioid utilization among MHCP enrollees following defined acute events. Begin discussion and voting on the post-acute pain prescribing recommendations.

Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome; DHS updates	12:00 – 12:10
2.	Approval of April minutes	12:10 - 12:20
3.	Introduce agenda	12:20 - 12:30
4.	Review acute pain prescribing recommendations	12:30 - 12:45
5.	Review preliminary analysis of opioid utilization following an acute event	12:451:15
BREAK		
6.	Opportunity for public comment	1:30 - 1:40
7.	Introduce post-acute pain prescribing proposal	1:40 - 1:55
8.	Post-acute pain prescribing recommendations	
	• Discuss and vote	1:55 - 3:00

Next Meeting:

Wednesday, June 22, 2016 9:00 am – noon Room 5137, DHS, 444 Lafayette Rd N, St Paul

OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Emergency Physicians Professional Association (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Native American Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Alvaro Sanchez, MD, Medica (health plan medical director)
- **Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA,** Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Sgt. Matthew J. St. George, Minneapolis Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH (651-431-4173)
- dhs.opioid@state.mn.us