

Opioid Prescribing Work Group

Agenda—January 19, 2017 noon – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139

MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

Instructions for non-members:

- If attending in person, register in advance with OPWG staff in order to arrange for a badge and escort.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the OPWG webpage will become active at approximately 12:45 pm.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email OPWG staff. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives

Complete development of the chronic pain prescribing recommendations. Review a process to gather OPWG feedback in the next month before public comment period.

Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome; DHS updates; approval of December minutes	noon – 12:15
2.	Opportunity for public comment	12:15 – 12:25
3.	Discuss and develop chronic pain prescribing domains	12:25 – 1:30
	BREAK	
4.	Continue discussion of chronic pain prescribing domains	1:45 – 2:30
5.	Review chronic pain assessment and treatment planning domains	2:30 – 2:50
6.	Process for OPWG feedback	2:50 - 3:00

Next Meeting:

Thursday, March 16, 2017 Noon – 3 pm Room 5139, DHS, 444 Lafayette Rd N, St Paul

OPWG Meeting agenda 1

OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Allina (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Native American Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Alvaro Sanchez, MD, Medica (health plan medical director)
- Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Sgt. Matthew J. St. George, Minneapolis Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH (651-431-4173)
- dhs.opioid@state.mn.us