

# **Opioid Prescribing Work Group**

Agenda—August 17, 2017 noon – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139

MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

#### **Instructions for non-members:**

- If attending in person, register in advance with OPWG staff in order to arrange for a badge.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the <a href="OPWG webpage">OPWG webpage</a> will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
  - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
  - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <a href="OPWG staff">OPWG staff</a>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
  - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

**Meeting Objectives:** Review and approve the complete set of opioid prescribing sentinel measures. Review and approve data to be reported in the prescriber reports for the index opioid prescription measures and the post-acute pain prescribing interval measures. Review and approve chronic pain prescribing measures.

## Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome; DHS updates; Approval of July minutes	12:00 – 12:15
2.	Opportunity for public comment	12:15 – 12:25
3.	Index Opioid Prescription Measures	12:25 – 12:45
4.	Index Opioid Prescription Threshold Options	12:45 – 1:15
BREAK		
5.	Post-Acute Pain Prescribing Interval Measures	1:30 - 2:00
6.	Post-Acute Pain Prescribing Interval Threshold Options	2:00 – 2:30
7.	Chronic Pain Prescribing Measures	2:30 - 3:00

### **Next Meeting:**

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Noon to 3 pm, subject to change

Room 5139, DHS, 444 Lafayette Rd N, St Paul

# **OPWG members** (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- **Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP,** Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Native American Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Bradley Johnson, MD, South Country Health Alliance (health plan medical director)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

#### **DHS Staff**

- Sarah Rinn, MPH (651-431-4173)
- dhs.opioid@state.mn.us