

Opioid Prescribing Work Group

Agenda: March 15, 2018

noon-3 p.m. Room 5139

MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

Instructions for nonmembers:

- If attending in person, register in advance with OPWG staff in order to arrange for a badge.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the OPWG webpage will become active at approximately 11:45 a.m.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email OPWG staff. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives: Discuss and determine Chronic Opioid Analgesic Therapy (COAT) sentinel measures and finalize quality improvement thresholds for the relevant COAT measures.

Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome; state agency updates; Approval of February minutes	noon-12:20
2.	Opportunity for public comment	12:20-12:30
3.	Chronic Opioid Analgesic Therapy Sentinel Measures	12:30-1:15

- Measure changes: prescriber limits, opioid formulations
- COAT Prescribing Rate
- High-Dose COAT Prescribing Rate: Quality Improvement Threshold

BREAK

4. COAT Sentinel Measures: continued

1:30-3:00

- Concomitant Opioid and Benzodiazepine Therapy: Measure and Quality Improvement Threshold
- Multiple Prescriber Measure

Next Meeting: Fall 2018



OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (nonvoting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Bradley Johnson, MD, South Country Health Alliance (health plan medical director)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH (651-431-4173)
- dhs.opioid@state.mn.us