

Opioid Prescribing Work Group

Agenda—October 17, 2019 noon – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139

MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

Instructions for non-members:

- If attending in person, register in advance with OPWG staff in order to arrange for a badge.
 - If you would like to provide public comment during the meeting, please email OPWG staff at least 24 hours prior to the meeting.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the OPWG webpage will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email OPWG staff. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

1. Introductions and welcome: state agency updates: approval of September 2019 minutes

Meeting Objectives: Discuss and determine specific quality improvement activities by pain phase. Discuss special cause exemption parameters. Revisit quality improvement program patient volume thresholds.

Agenda

	,	
2.	Opportunity for public comment	12:15 – 12:25
3.	Opioid Prescribing Work Group timeline	12:25 – 12:30
4.	Quality improvement program: Chronic pain	12:30 – 1:30
	 Recap on the objectives for measure 5 and 6 	
	Discussion of quality improvement activities	
	BREAK	
5.	Quality improvement activities	1:40-2:40
	Acute painPost-acute pain	
6.	Quality improvement volume thresholds: COAT measures	2:40 – 3:00

Next Meeting: November 21, 2019

Noon - 12:15



OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Consultant (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Bradley Johnson, MD, South Country Health Alliance (health plan medical director)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Vacant, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Ellie Garrett (651-431-5841)
- Jessica Hultgren (651-431-2613)
- Sarah Rinn (651-431-4173)
- <u>dhs.opioid@state.mn.us</u>