

# **Opioid Prescribing Work Group**

Agenda—December 19, 2019 noon – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139

MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

#### **Instructions for non-members:**

- If attending in person, register in advance with OPWG staff in order to arrange for a badge.
  - If you would like to provide public comment during the meeting, please email OPWG staff at least 24 hours prior to the meeting.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the <a href="OPWG webpage">OPWG webpage</a> will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
  - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
  - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <a href="OPWG staff">OPWG staff</a>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
  - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

**Meeting Objectives:** Discuss key findings from recent stakeholder meetings. Review revised quality improvement documents, and vote on quality improvement activities outlined within the documents. Discuss and vote on revision to the taper guidance in the Minnesota opioid prescribing guidelines (tentative).

### Agenda

1.	Introductions and welcome; state agency updates; approval of November 2019 minutes	Noon – 12:15
2.	Opportunity for public comment	12:15 – 12:25
3.	Program updates	12:25—1:00
	Stakeholder meetings: Health system and chronic pain patient community	
	Updated opioid prescribing reports	
4.	Quality improvement program: Attestation form review	1:00 - 1:30
	Chronic pain	
	BREAK	
5.	Quality improvement program: Attestation form review continued	1:40-2:30
	Post-acute pain and acute pain	
6.	Revision to taper recommendations in prescribing guidance	2:30 – 3:00

**Next Meeting:** Winter 2020



## **OPWG members** (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- **Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP,** Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Consultant (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Bradley Johnson, MD, South Country Health Alliance (health plan medical director)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Chad Hope, PharmD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Vacant, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

#### **DHS Staff**

- Ellie Garrett (651-431-5841)
- Jessica Hultgren (651-431-2613)
- Sarah Rinn (651-431-4173)
- dhs.opioid@state.mn.us