

Opioid Prescribing Work Group: Remote Meeting Only

Agenda—June 17, 2021 12:00 – 3:00 p.m.

OPIP webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opip)

Instructions for participation:

- A WebEx meeting invitation was distributed to the OPWG list serve prior to the meeting.
- You may view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time to <u>opwg.dhs@state.mn.us</u>. The link posted on the <u>OPIP webpage</u> will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email OPWG staff. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting related to the live stream, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives: Discuss and vote on clinical criteria for disenrollment standard domains: 1) abrupt taper or cessation of opioid therapy that results in patient harm; and 2) continued prescribing of opioid therapy after a life-threatening event or contraindication. Learn about the OPIP quality improvement program plan.

Agenda

1.	Introductions and welcome; review and approval of minutes; state agency updates	12:00 – 12:10
2.	Public comment opportunity	12:10 – 12:20
3.	Disenrollment domain: Abrupt taper or cessation of opioid therapy	12:20—1:20
BREAK		
4.	Disenrollment domain: Continued opioid prescribing after contraindication	1:35 – 2:25
5.	Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement (ICSI) presentation: DHS QI project	2:25 – 2:50
6.	Next steps	2:50 - 3:00

Next Meeting: July 15, 2021 (DHS staff will poll OPWG members for summer availability after June meeting)



OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Nathan Chomilo, MD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Kurtis Couch, CPhT, (consumer representative with chronic pain; nonvoting)
- Kurt DeVine, MD, MEnD Correctional Care (licensed physician)
- **Sen. Chris Eaton, RN,** Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Pharmacy consultant (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Bret Haake, MD, MBA, HealthPartners (health plan medical director)
- Chad Hope, PharmD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP pharmacy director; nonvoting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing; consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Adam Nelson, PharmD, UCare (health plan pharmacy director)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Saudade SammuelSon, Sammuel's Legacy (consumer representative with chronic pain; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department, retired (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)
- Vacant, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH
- Jessica Hultgren, MPA
- Ellie Garrett, JD
- David Kelly, MS
- opwg.dhs@state.mn.us