DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

Opioid Prescribing Work Group: Remote Meeting Only

Agenda—November 18, 2021 12:00 – 3:00 p.m. OPIP webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opip)

Instructions for participation:

- A WebEx meeting invitation was distributed to the OPWG list serve prior to the meeting.
- You may view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time to opwg.dhs@state.mn.us. The link posted on the OPIP webpage will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting related to the live stream, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives: Discuss the clinical definitions for the following Opioid Prescribing Improvement Program (OPIP) sanction standards: 1) failure to screen for Opioid Use Disorder (OUD) in the presence of red flags; 2) failure to respond to serious risk factors for opioid overdose and opioid-related adverse events; and 3) failure to participate in the OPIP quality improvement program. Review clinical definitions discussed during the October OPWG meeting.

Agenda

1.	Introductions and welcome; review and approval of minutes; state agency updates	12:00 - 12:15
2.	Public comment opportunity	12:15 – 12:25
3.	OPIP sanction standards:	12:25—1:35
	• Failure to diagnose and respond to Opioid Use Disorder (OUD), or refer for diagnosis, whe OUD are present	en red flags for
	• Failure to respond to serious risk factors for opioid-related overdose and adverse events	
BREAK		
4.	OPIP sanction standards, continued:	1:45 – 2:30
	Finish concomitant opioid and benzodiazepine domain discussion	
	Failure to participate in the OPIP quality improvement program	
5.	Review clinical definitions discussed during October OPWG meeting	2:30 - 3:00

Next Meeting: December 16, 2021

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- **Chair: Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP,** Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Emily Bannister, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (medical director; nonvoting)
- Nathan Chomilo, MD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Kurtis Couch, CPhT, (consumer representative with chronic pain)
- Kurt DeVine, MD, (licensed physician)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Pharmacy consultant (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Bret Haake, MD, MBA, HealthPartners (health plan medical director)
- Chad Hope, PharmD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP pharmacy director; nonvoting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing; consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- **Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP,** Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Adam Nelson, PharmD, UCare (health plan pharmacy director)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Saudade SammuelSon, Sammuel's Legacy (consumer representative with chronic pain)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department, retired (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH
- Jessica Hultgren, MPA
- Ellie Garrett, JD
- David Kelly, MS
- <u>opwg.dhs@state.mn.us</u>