

Opioid Prescribing Work Group: Remote Meeting Only

Agenda—December 16, 2021 12:00 – 3:00 p.m.

OPIP webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opip)

Instructions for participation:

- A WebEx meeting invitation was distributed to the OPWG list serve prior to the meeting.
- You may view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time to <u>opwg.dhs@state.mn.us</u>. The link posted on the <u>OPIP webpage</u> will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting related to the live stream, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives: Review and vote on the Opioid Prescribing Improvement Program (OPIP) sanction standard definitions. Review year one of the OPIP quality improvement program and discuss lessons learned and next steps.

Agenda

1.	Introductions and welcome; review and approval of minutes; state agency comments	12:00 – 12:15
2.	Public comment opportunity	12:15 – 12:25
3.	OPIP sanction standards: Limited discussion and vote	12:30—1:15
	BREAK	
4.	OPIP sanction standards, continued: Limited discussion and vote	1:20 – 2:05
5.	OPIP quality improvement program: Year 1 overview	2:05 – 2:45
	ICSI and DHS presentation	
6.	Concluding thoughts	2:45 – 3:00

A sincere thank you to all who have participated in the Opioid Prescribing Work Group meetings since 2015. This includes the dedicated present and past members of the OPWG, individuals experiencing pain and those who advocate for better pain management, state agency staff and leadership from the Department of Labor & Industry, the Department of Health—including the Boards of Medical Practice, Nursing, Pharmacy and Dentistry - and the Department of Human Services, our partners in the medical community, and organizational partners including ICSI, MHA, MMA, Stratis Health, and many, many others. Our deepest appreciation for your service to the state, and your unflagging passion for improving the lives of all Minnesotans.



OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Emily Bannister, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (medical director; nonvoting)
- Nathan Chomilo, MD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Kurtis Couch, CPhT, (consumer representative with chronic pain)
- Kurt DeVine, MD, (licensed physician)
- **Sen. Chris Eaton, RN,** Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Pharmacy consultant (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Bret Haake, MD, MBA, HealthPartners (health plan medical director)
- Chad Hope, PharmD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP pharmacy director; nonvoting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing; consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Adam Nelson, PharmD, UCare (health plan pharmacy director)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Saudade SammuelSon, Sammuel's Legacy (consumer representative with chronic pain)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department, retired (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH
- Jessica Hultgren, MPA
- Ellie Garrett, JD
- David Kelly, MS
- opwg.dhs@state.mn.us