

## **ORDER**

WHEREAS, on August 21, 2012, I ordered the creation of the Sex Offender Civil Commitment Task Force ("Task Force"); and,

WHEREAS, I have reviewed all applications submitted through the Secretary of State's open appointment process and, further, considered other qualified individuals with knowledge and abilities that will aid in the accomplishment of the Task Force's work;

Therefore, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the following individuals are appointed as members of the Task Force:

- 1. Hon. Eric J. Magnuson, Chief Justice, Minnesota Supreme Court, retired (Chair)
- 2. **Hon. James M. Rosenbaum,** Judge, United States District Court, retired (Vice Chair)
- 3. **Representative Jim Abler,** Chair, Health and Human Services Finance Committee, Minnesota House of Representatives
- 4. Donna Dunn, Executive Director, Minnesota Coalition Against Sexual Assault
- 5. Hon. Kathleen R. Gearin, Judge, Ramsey County District Court
- 6. Eric S. Janus, President and Dean, William Mitchell College of Law
- 7. Gerald T. Kaplan, Executive Director, Alpha Human Services
- 8. **Representative Tina Liebling,** Minority Lead, Health and Human Services Reform Committee, Minnesota House of Representatives
- 9. **Senator Warren Limmer,** Chair, Judiciary and Public Safety Committee, Minnesota Senate
- 10. **Senator Tony Lourey,** Ranking Minority Member, Health and Human Services Committee, Minnesota Senate
- 11. Ryan B. Magnus, Partner, Jones and Magnus Attorneys at Law
- 12. Hon. Paul A. Nelson, Judge, Chippewa County District Court
- 13. **Roberta C. Opheim,** Ombudsman for Mental Health and Developmental Disabilities
- 14. Mark A. Ostrem, Olmsted County Attorney
- 15. Nancy Schouweiler, Chair, Dakota County Board of Commissioners; Chair, Justice and Public Safety Steering Committee, National Association of Counties

The above appointments are effective October 10, 2012.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the following individuals are appointed, effective October 10, 2012, as *ex officio* members of the Task Force:

- 1. Kelly Lyn Mitchell, Executive Director, Sentencing Guidelines Commission
- 2. **Tom Roy,** Commissioner of Corrections
- 3. **Dr. Michael D. Thompson,** President, Minnesota Chapter of the Association for the Treatment of Sexual Abusers
- 4. James D. Franklin, Executive Director, Minnesota Sherriff's Association

The Task Force shall convene on October 11, 2012, at 9:00 a.m., at the Training Room of the Minnesota Department of Transportation Office of Aeronautics, 222 East Plato Boulevard, St. Paul, Minnesota 55107.

	October 5, 2012
LUCINDA E. JESSON	
Commissioner	