

Opioid Prescribing Work Group

Agenda—March 17, 2016 12:00 noon – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139 <u>MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN</u> OPWG webpage (www.dhs.state.mn.us/opwg)

Instructions for non-members:

- If attending in person, register in advance with <u>OPWG staff</u> in order to arrange for a badge and escort.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the <u>OPWG webpage</u> will become active at approximately 12:15.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives

Review completed acute protocol domain recommendations to date, and confirm consensus on acute protocol domain discussed but not voted upon: 1) ABCDPQRS opioid risk assessment approach, and 2) dental. Discuss and vote on remaining acute protocol domains: 1) surgical considerations; 2) pregnant and lactating women; and 3) children. Introduce opioid prescribing sentinel measures, and discuss and vote on acute pain sentinel measure domains.

Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome; DHS updates	12:00 - 12:10
2.	Approval of February minutes	12:10 - 12:15
3.	Recap of meeting 4 discussions	12:15 – 12:25
4.	Acute Protocol Domains: ABCDPQRS opioid risk assessment approach; dental; surgical considerations; pregnant and lactating women; children	
	Opportunity for public comment	12:25 - 12:35
	Discussion and vote	12:35 – 1:45

BREAK

5.	Opioid Prescribing Sentinel Measures: acute pain sentinel measure domains	
	Opportunity for public comment	2:00 - 2:10
	Discussion and vote	2:10 - 2:55
6.	Next Steps	2:55 - 3:00

Next Meeting:

Thursday, April 21, 2016 12:00 – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139, DHS, 444 Lafayette Rd N, St Paul

OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Emergency Physicians Professional Association (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Native American Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- **Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP,** Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Alvaro Sanchez, MD, Medica (health plan medical director)
- Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Sgt. Matthew J. St. George, Minneapolis Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH (651-431-4173)
- Ellie Garrett, JD (651-431-5841)
- <u>dhs.opioid@state.mn.us</u>