

Opioid Prescribing Work Group

Agenda—July 21, 2016 11:30 am – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139

MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN OPWG webpage (www.dhs.state.mn.us/opwg)

Instructions for non-members:

- If attending in person, register in advance with <u>OPWG staff</u> in order to arrange for a badge and escort.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the OPWG webpage will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives

Review public comments received on the Acute Pain Prescribing Recommendations proposal, and discuss and vote on any potential revisions to the proposal. Discuss and vote on post-acute pain prescribing recommendations.

Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome; DHS updates	11:30 - 11:50
2.	Approval of May minutes	11:50 – 12:00
3.	Introduce agenda	12:00 – 12:10
4.	Opportunity for public comments	12:10 - 12:20
5.	Review acute pain prescribing public comments	12:20 - 1:00

BREAK

6.	Opportunity for public comments	1:15-1:30
7.	Post-acute pain prescribing recommendations	
	• Discuss and vote	1:30-3:00

Next Meeting:

Thursday, August 18, 2016 Noon – 3 pm Room 5139, DHS, 444 Lafayette Rd N, St Paul

OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Emergency Physicians Professional Association (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Native American Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Alvaro Sanchez, MD, Medica (health plan medical director)
- **Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA,** Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Sgt. Matthew J. St. George, Minneapolis Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH (651-431-4173)
- dhs.opioid@state.mn.us