DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

Opioid Prescribing Work Group

Agenda—May 18, 2017 noon – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139 <u>MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN</u> OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

Instructions for non-members:

- If attending in person, register in advance with <u>OPWG staff</u> in order to arrange for a badge.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the <u>OPWG webpage</u> will become active at approximately 11:45 a.m.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives: Review public comments received about the Post-Acute Pain Prescribing Recommendations and discuss and vote on any revisions to the recommendations. Review process for finalizing the prescribing recommendations. Review acute and post-acute pain opioid prescribing analysis. Discuss quality improvement and disenrollment thresholds for acute and post-acute pain prescribing.

Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome; DHS updates; Approval of March minutes	12:00 - 12:15
2.	Opportunity for public comment	12:15 – 12:25
3.	Post-Acute Pain Prescribing Public Comments	12:25 – 12:55
	Review public comments	
	Discussion and vote	
4.	Completing All Pain Prescribing Guidelines: Process and Timeline	12:55 – 1:15
	BREAK	
5.	Acute and Post-Acute Pain Prescribing Data Analysis	
	Review clinician grouping methodology	1:30 - 2:00
	Review initial acute and post-acute pain prescribing data	2:00 - 2:30
6.	Discuss thresholds for quality improvement and program disenrollment	2:30 - 3:00

Next Meeting:

Thursday, June 15, 2017 Noon – 3 p.m. Room 5139, DHS, 444 Lafayette Rd. N., St Paul

OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Native American Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- **Pete Marshall, PharmD,** HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- **Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP,** Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Vacant (health plan medical director)
- Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Vacant, (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH 651-431-4173
- <u>dhs.opioid@state.mn.us</u>