DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

Opioid Prescribing Work Group

Agenda—September 21, 2017 1:00 – 4:00 p.m. Room 5139 <u>MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN</u> OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

Instructions for non-members:

- If attending in person, register in advance with <u>OPWG staff</u> in order to arrange for a badge.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the <u>OPWG webpage</u> will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives: Introduce the Minnesota Department of Health Opioid Dashboard. Review draft opioid prescribing report components. Review data to support the opioid prescribing sentinel measures for the index opioid prescription and post-acute pain prescribing interval, and approve the measure concepts. Review the chronic pain prescribing initial data analysis, and discuss chronic pain prescribing sentinel measures. Review final draft opioid prescribing recommendations.

Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome; DHS updates; Approval of August minutes; public comment	1:00 - 1:20
2.	Introduce MDH Opioid Dashboard	1:20 – 1:35
3.	Review draft Opioid Prescribing Report	1:35 – 2:00
4.	Review index opioid prescription and post-acute pain interval data	2:30 - 3:00
	Review and approve sentinel measures	
BREAK		
5.	Review chronic pain prescribing data and discuss proposed measures	3:15 - 3:40
6.	Review final Opioid Prescribing Recommendations	3:40 - 4:00

Naloxone education; 700 cumulative MME limit

Next Meeting:

Thursday, October 12, 2017 Noon to 2 pm Room 4140, DHS, 444 Lafayette Rd N, St Paul

Please note: VideoNow will not be available during this meeting. We will host a live webinar and have a conference call available.

OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Native American Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Bradley Johnson, MD, South Country Health Alliance (health plan medical director)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH (651-431-4173)
- <u>dhs.opioid@state.mn.us</u>