

# **Opioid Prescribing Work Group**

Agenda—December 21, 2017 noon – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139

MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

#### **Instructions for non-members:**

- If attending in person, register in advance with OPWG staff in order to arrange for a badge.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the <a href="OPWG webpage">OPWG webpage</a> will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
  - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
  - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <a href="OPWG staff">OPWG staff</a>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
  - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

**Meeting Objectives:** Review statement on the role of the state's opioid prescribing recommendations in relation to other existing guidance. Provide a final recommendation for the 700 cumulative morphine milligram equivalence (MME) measure's quality improvement (QI) threshold(s). Review data and discuss QI thresholds for the chronic opioid analgesic therapy (COAT) measures.

## Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome; state agency updates; Approval of November minutes	noon – 12:15
2.	Opportunity for public comment	12:15 – 12:25
3.	Statement on coexisting opioid prescribing guidelines	12:25 – 12:45
4.	Initial opioid prescribing episode: QI threshold recommendations	12:45 – 1:15
	BREAK	
5.	Chronic Opioid Analgesic Therapy: Data Review and QI threshold discussion	1:30 – 2:40
6.	Closing and time for reflection	2:40 - 3:00

Thank you so much for your time and energy! Happy Holidays!



## **Next Meeting:**

TBD – January 2018 Room 5139, DHS, 444 Lafayette Rd N, St Paul

#### **OPWG members** (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Native American Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Bradley Johnson, MD, South Country Health Alliance (health plan medical director)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

### **DHS Staff**

- Sarah Rinn, MPH (651-431-4173)
- dhs.opioid@state.mn.us