

# **Opioid Prescribing Work Group**

Agenda—February 21, 2019 noon – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139

MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

#### **Instructions for non-members:**

- If attending in person, register in advance with OPWG staff in order to arrange for a badge.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the <a href="OPWG webpage">OPWG webpage</a> will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
  - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
  - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
  - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

**Meeting Objectives:** Discuss and vote on quality improvement and special cause exemption process. Review proposed Opioid Prescribing Improvement Program quality improvement attestation form. Discuss activities required for quality improvement program.

#### Agenda (Boxed lunches provided for OPWG members)

1.	Introductions and welcome; state agency updates; approval of January 2019 minutes	noon – 12:20
2.	Opportunity for public comment	12:20 – 12:30
3.	Quality improvement program process	12:30 – 1:20

- Tier 1 Acute/ Post-acute pain
- Tier 2 Acute/ Post-acute pain
- Chronic pain
- Relationship of quality improvement and special cause exemption

#### **BREAK**

4. Quality improvement activities

1:30 - 3:00

Review and discuss OPIP quality improvement attestation form

Next Meeting: March 21, 2019



### **OPWG members** (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Bradley Johnson, MD, South Country Health Alliance (health plan medical director)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

## **DHS Staff**

- Sarah Rinn, MPH (651-431-4173)
- dhs.opioid@state.mn.us