# DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

## **Opioid Prescribing Work Group**

Agenda—April 18, 2019 1:00 – 3:00 p.m. Room 5139 <u>MN Department of Human Services, 444 Lafayette Road N, St Paul, MN</u> OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

#### Instructions for non-members:

- If attending in person, register in advance with <u>OPWG staff</u> in order to arrange for a badge.
  - If you would like to provide public comment during the meeting, please email OPWG staff at least 24 hours prior to the meeting.
- You may instead view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the <u>OPWG webpage</u> will become active at approximately 12:45 pm.
  - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
  - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
  - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting, call 651-431-2070.

**Meeting Objectives:** Discuss activities required for quality improvement program. DHS staff will develop the quality improvement materials based on the discussion, and present to OPWG members for a vote in fall 2019. Review change to COAT definition.

### Agenda

1.	Introductions and welcome; state agency updates; approval of March 2019 minutes	1:00 - 1:10
2.	Opportunity for public comment	1:10 - 1:20
3.	Quality improvement activities	1:20 - 2:10
	Chronic pain	
BREAK		
4.	OPIP Sentinel Measures: Review COAT definition change	2:15 - 2:25
5.	Quality improvement activities	2:25 - 3:00
	• Tier 2 acute and post-acute pain	

• Tier 1 acute and post-acute pain (time permitting)

#### Next Meeting: Fall 2019

# DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

**OPWG members** (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- **Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP,** Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Bradley Johnson, MD, South Country Health Alliance (health plan medical director)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative)
- Pete Marshall, PharmD, HealthPartners (health plan pharmacy director)
- **Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP,** Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Mary Beth Reinke, PharmD, MSA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS pharmacy unit; nonvoting)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Jeffrey Schiff, MD, MBA, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- **Detective Charles Strack,** Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

### **DHS Staff**

- Sarah Rinn, MPH (651-431-4173)
- <u>dhs.opioid@state.mn.us</u>