DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

Opioid Prescribing Work Group: Remote Meeting Only

Agenda—May 21, 2020 1:00 – 3:00 p.m. <u>OPWG webpage</u> (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

Instructions for Webex: This is for OPWG members. Members of the public are invited to register for the Webex, but will be muted during the meeting. Registration is required. Registration instructions for joining the Webex were emailed and are available at this link:

https://minnesota.webex.com/minnesota/onstage/g.php?MTID=e186f381fc9630b82fdaab419ad6628aa

Instructions for non-members:

- You may view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the <u>OPWG webpage</u> will become active at approximately 12:45 pm.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting related to the live stream, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives: Elect a chair for the 2020-2021 Opioid Prescribing Work Group term. Review current taper guidance domains and approve additional domains for guidance update. Share an overview of the content and approach of the Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) and Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement (ICSI)'s quality improvement resources and collect OPWG member feedback.

Agenda

1.	Introductions and welcome to new members	1:00 - 1:30
	• State agency updates; approval of November and December 2019 minutes; election of chair	
2.	Opportunity for public comment	1:30 - 1:40
3.	Review taper domains for guidance update	1:40 - 1:50
	BREAK	
4.	Quality improvement program: DHS update	2:00 - 2:50
	Minnesota Hospital Association (MHA) presentation	
	Institute for Clinical Systems Improvement (ICSI) presentation	
5.	Next steps	2:50 - 3:00

Next Meeting: June 18, 2020

DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Nathan Chomilo, MD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Kurtis Couch, CPhT, Walgreen's Pharmacy (consumer representative with chronic pain; nonvoting)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Sen. Chris Eaton, RN, Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Chad Hope, PharmD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP pharmacy director; nonvoting)
- **Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP,** Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Ifeyinwa Nneka Igwe, MD, Essentia Health (physician)
- Bradley Johnson, MD, South Country Health Alliance (health plan medical director)
- Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- **Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP,** Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Adam Nelson, PharmD, UCare (health plan pharmacy director)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Saudade SammuelSon, Sammuel's Legacy (consumer representative with chronic pain; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH
- Jessica Hultgren, MPA
- Ellie Garrett, JD
- <u>dhs.opioid@state.mn.us</u>