

Opioid Prescribing Work Group: Remote Meeting Only

Agenda—October 22, 2020 noon – 3:00 p.m.

OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

Instructions for participation:

- A WebEx meeting invitation was distributed to the OPWG list serve prior to the meeting.
- You may view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the <u>OPWG webpage</u> will become active at approximately 12:45 pm.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email <u>OPWG staff</u>. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting related to the live stream, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives: Discuss and vote on the revised opioid taper guidance prior to posting for official comment. Review revisions to the Opioid Prescribing Improvement Program quality improvement program proposal for the 2020-2021 cohort.

Agenda

1.	Introductions and welcome; state agency updates, approval of September minutes	noon – 12:20
2.	Opportunity for public comment	12:20 – 12:40
3.	Taper guidance review	12:401:40
	BREAK	
4.	Quality improvement program proposal	1:50 – 2:50
	Acute pain: Measure 2	
	• Chronic pain: Measures 5 and 6	
5.	Next steps	2:50 - 3:00

Next Meeting: November 17, 2020



OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Nathan Chomilo, MD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Kurtis Couch, CPhT, (consumer representative with chronic pain; nonvoting)
- Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Kurt DeVine, MD, CHI St. Gabriel's Health (licensed physician)
- **Sen. Chris Eaton, RN,** Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Chad Hope, PharmD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP pharmacy director; nonvoting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Bradley Johnson, MD, South Country Health Alliance (health plan medical director)
- Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Ernest Lampe, MD, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Adam Nelson, PharmD, UCare (health plan pharmacy director)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Saudade SammuelSon, Sammuel's Legacy (consumer representative with chronic pain; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH
- Jessica Hultgren, MPA
- Ellie Garrett, JD
- David Kelly, MS
- dhs.opioid@state.mn.us