

Opioid Prescribing Work Group: Remote Meeting Only

Agenda—February 25, 2021 12:00 – 3:00 p.m.

OPWG webpage (https://mn.gov/dhs/opwg)

Instructions for participation:

- A WebEx meeting invitation was distributed to the OPWG list serve prior to the meeting.
- You may view a live webcast of the meeting and submit written comments or questions in real time. The link posted on the OPWG webpage will become active at approximately 11:45 am.
 - You do not need to register in advance to view the webcast.
 - To submit brief written comments during the meeting, please email OPWG staff. Comments and questions will be addressed toward the end of the meeting.
 - For technical assistance only on the day of the meeting related to the live stream, call 651-431-2070.

Meeting Objectives: Discuss and vote on modest changes to the chronic opioid analgesic therapy guidance so that it aligns with the revised opioid taper guidance. Review key messages in 2020 opioid prescribing reports and cover letters. Review fluctuations in prescribing rates among providers flagged for QI in Opioid Prescribing Improvement Program (OPIP) measures 5 and 6. Introduce discussion of OPIP disenrollment standards.

Agenda

1.	Introductions and welcome; state agency updates; program updates	12:00 – 12:20
2.	Revisions to opioid prescribing guidance for chronic pain	12:20 – 12:50
3.	Key messages: Opioid prescribing reports and letters	12:501:20
4.	Public comment opportunity	1:20 – 1:30
BREAK		
5.	Data analysis: Monitoring changes in prescribing rates; Measures 5 and 6	1:45 – 2:15
6.	Provider disenrollment standards: Introduction	2:15 – 3:00

Next Meeting: April 22, 2021 (No March meeting)



OPWG members (and statutorily set membership categories)

- Chair: Julie L. Cunningham, PharmD, BCPP, Mayo Clinic Health System (non-physician health care professional who treats pain)
- Nathan Chomilo, MD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP medical director; nonvoting)
- Kurtis Couch, CPhT, (consumer representative with chronic pain; nonvoting)
- Kurt DeVine, MD, CHI St. Gabriel's Health (licensed physician)
- **Sen. Chris Eaton, RN,** Minnesota State Senate (consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- Tiffany Elton, PharmD, NCPS, Fond du Lac Human Services Pharmacy (pharmacist)
- Dana Farley, MS, Minnesota Department of Health (non-voting)
- Bret Haake, MD, MBA, HealthPartners (health plan medical director)
- Chad Hope, PharmD, Minnesota Department of Human Services (MHCP pharmacy director; nonvoting)
- Rebekah Forrest, RN, CNP, Northpoint Community Clinic (nurse practitioner)
- Chris Johnson, MD, Allina Health (Health Services Advisory Council member)
- Matthew Lewis, MD (not practicing), Winona (consumer representative with personal or family experience of opioid use disorder)
- Murray McAllister, PsyD, LP, Courage Kenny Rehabilitation Institute (nonphysician health care professional who treats pain)
- Richard Nadeau, DDS, MPH, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry (dentist)
- Adam Nelson, PharmD, UCare (health plan pharmacy director)
- Charles Reznikoff, MD, Hennepin County Medical Center (mental health professional)
- Saudade SammuelSon, Sammuel's Legacy (consumer representative with chronic pain; nonvoting)
- Detective Charles Strack, Little Falls Police Department (law enforcement)
- Lindsey Thomas, MD, Hennepin County Medical Examiner's Office, retired (medical examiner)
- Vacant, Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI medical consultant; nonvoting)

DHS Staff

- Sarah Rinn, MPH
- Jessica Hultgren, MPA
- Ellie Garrett, JD
- David Kelly, MS
- opwg.dhs@state.mn.us