

Opioid Epidemic Response Advisory Council (OERAC)

Meeting Minutes for February 16, 2024

Meeting Location: Hybrid meeting using WebEx and in-person at Elmer L. Andersen Human Services Building in St. Paul, MN.

Members present: (Names in italics are non-voting OERAC members)

Remote: Joe Clubb, Dr. Ashwin George, Sarah Grosshuesch, Rep. Erin Koegel, Jack Martin, Senator Kelly Morrison, Toni Napier, Dr. Kathy Nevins, Dr. Charles Reznikoff, Kristi Schoen, Brock Reed, Dr. Heather Bell, Sadie Broekemeier, Irene Folstrom, Peter Carlson, Pam Hughes, Senator Bill Lieske, Judge Nicole Starr, Dr. Antony Stately, *Dana Farley, Eric Grumdahl, Jolene Rebertus*

In person: Rep. Dave Baker

Members not present: none

State Staff Members Present: Jen Sather, Jenny Rennquist, Amanda Langston, Laura Farlow, Alicia Baker

Call to order

Facilitator Amanda Langston began the meeting at 12:00 pm, reviewed the OERAC mission, the meeting ground rules and gave a guest welcome. The OERAC Chair, Dr. Kathy Nevins, and OERAC Vice Chair, Joe Clubb, reviewed the meeting agenda and gave welcome. A roll call followed. Quorum was secured. See voting log for details.

Business items

Minutes approval: Baker moved to approve the minutes from the January 19, 2024. Seconded by Clubb. Motion passed with roll call vote. See voting log for details.

Bylaws update: Under revision. Bylaws must be sent to council 30 days before a vote. Bylaw vote is planned for the April 2024 meeting.

Update on 2023 RFP OERAC Grants: Jen Sather presented an update on the 2023 OERAC Grants. Number of grants executed has increased to 13 contracts, with 4 contracts in final signing stage.

- Member comments: Baker
- Concern around timeline. DHS staff, Jen Sather, referenced the January meeting discussion and affirmed that there are no concerns at this moment on the timing of the contract executions.

IAA Update: Dana Farley gave un updated on the Interagency Agreement. MMB is working closely with DHS and MDH to transfer funds between the two authorities. Transfer of funds has not yet been approved. There is a new Tribal Specialist hired to work closely with Minnesota's Tribal Nations.

SOR Update

DHS Staff, Alicia Baker, gave update on the State Opioid Response Grants.

SOR vs OERAC (slide 12): Overview of the differences between SOR and OERAC funding, oversight, and grant execution.

Staffing update (slide 13): Staff movement within DHS. Alicia Baker, Jeff Campe, Kate Toftness, and Sey Lee have been appointed new roles on the SOR team.

SOR 2022 Grantees (slides 14-18): Update on each of the SOR 2022 grantees, sorted based on their program initiative.

- Member comments: Baker
- Need for a dashboard on SOR 2022 grants. Current dashboard only references settlement dollars, county and city reporting, and OERAC grantees.
- Need for one visual that overviews all funding sources and allocations in the entire state of Minnesota for opioid response.
- Alicia Baker mentions the DHS SOR website is in process of being updated. For settlement dollar allocations, counties and cities have until March 31st to give reports.

Future Meeting Planning

OERAC Chair, Kathy Nevins, began conversation to discuss future one-hour noon meeting format.

Previous meeting format – ten meetings a year, four hours each. Current year format – six hybrid meetings, four hours each as well as six noon meetings, one hour each. Beneficial to meet each month, but issues with Open Meeting Law requirements. Need one council member, voting or non-voting, to be present in person for all meetings.

- Member comments: Clubb, Grosshuesch, Koegel, Schoen, Bell, Folstrom, Farley, Grumdahl, Rebertus, Baker
- Legislative language may change soon to allow for fully virtual meetings to meet Open Meeting Law requirements.
- Council Member preference for DHS staff to send out survey with one-hour meeting dates to council members. Then can see who is available to be in person for each of the shortened meeting.
 - Various council members volunteer to attend the shortened meetings in person: Rebertus,
 Farley, Baker, Bell, Schoen, Folstrom
- Benefit of holding meetings in different geographic locations includes that the local community could attend the one-hour meeting.
- OERAC council will hold the March Meeting in the one-hour format as planned and reassess in the extended April Meeting.

Action Items:

- Survey to council members on availability to be in-person at one-hour meetings. Survey will be sent following the March 15th meeting.
- Pending proposed Open Meeting Law revisions, determine if OERAC falls into the category of advisory bodies who may be permitted to hold fully virtual meetings in the future. Update will be provided after any proposed statutory changes have been enacted by the legislature.

Public Comment

Public Comment is not on the agenda for the shortened meetings. There was additional time at the February meeting that allowed for an in person and virtual public comment at the end of the meeting. The next planned Public Comment will be on April 19th, 2024.

- Fentanyl Free Coalition representatives.
 - Work on legislation that addresses fentanyl crisis and the spectrum of opioids. Work with the prevention initiatives, know the damage and change the outcome.
 - Thanked OERAC council for the work and acknowledged they will be submitting grant application this year.
- OERAC Council Member, Rep. Baker, acknowledged email from community member who is involved in national fentanyl outreach. Referenced updated version of Dead on Arrival presentation that is used in community outreach program.
- Carolyn Clark, Student at Metropolitan State University.
 - Appreciative of OERAC work. If any members would like to collaborate with Metropolitan State
 University's work on opioid crisis in North Minneapolis, please contact them.

Adjourn

OERAC Chair Dr. Kathy Nevins adjourned the February 2024 meeting.

Next meeting: March 15th: 12:00PM -1:00PM

Roll Call and Voting Log

February 16, 2024

P = in person R = remote participant A = absent

Member	Attendance	Minutes	Vote:	Vote:	Vote:
	status	approval for 1/19/24	TBD	TBD	
Rep. Dave Baker	Р	А			
Heather Bell	R	А			
Sadie Broekemier	R	А			
Peter Carlson	R	А			
Joe Clubb	R	А			
Irene Folstrom	R	А			
Dr. Ashwin George	R	А			
Sarah Grosshuesch	R	А			
Pam Hughes	R	А			
Rep. Erin Koegel	R	Α			
Senator Bill Lieske	R	А			
Jack Martin	R	А			
Senator Kelly Morrison	R	А			
Toni Napier	R	-			
Dr. Kathy Nevins	R	А			
Brock Reed	R	Α			
Dr. Charles Reznikoff	R	А			
Kristi Schoen	R	А			
Judge Nicole Starr	R	А			
Dr. Antony Stately	R	-			
Dana Farley	R				
Jolene Rebertus	R				
Eric Grumdahl/Kristine Preston	R				
Tally	voting members present= 20 absent=	Motion to approve: Rep. Dave Baker	Motion: Second:	Motion: Second:	Motion: Second:
		Second: Joe Clubb			