

Opioid Epidemic Response Advisory Council (OERAC)

Meeting Minutes for May 17, 2024

Meeting Location: Hybrid meeting using WebEx and in-person at Elmer L. Andersen Building, Room 2222, 540 Cedar Street, St. Paul MN.

Members present: (Names in italics are non-voting OERAC members)

Remote: Dr. Kathy Nevins, Joe Clubb, Rep. Dave Baker, Dr. Heather Bell, Sadie Broekemeier, Peter Carlson, Sarah Grosshuesch, Pam Hughes, Jack Martin, Toni Napier, Brock Reed, Kristi Schoen, Judge Nicole Starr, Dana Farley

In person: Dr. Charles Reznikoff, Eric Grumdahl

Members not present: Irene Folstrom, Dr. Ashwin George, Rep. Erin Koegel, Senator Bill Lieske, Senator Kelly Morrison, Dr. Antony Stately, *Jolene Rebertus*

State Staff Members Present: Amanda Langston, Laura Farlow, Sam Nord, Jen Sather, Alicia Baker

Call to order

Facilitator Stacy Sjogren began the meeting at 12:00 pm, reviewed the OERAC mission, the meeting ground rules and gave a guest welcome. The OERAC Chair, Dr. Kathy Nevins, and OERAC Vice Chair, Joe Clubb, reviewed the meeting agenda and gave welcome. A roll call followed. Quorum was secured. See voting log for details.

Business items

Minutes approval: Kristi Schoen moved to approve the minutes from the April 19, 2024 council meeting. Seconded by Dave Baker. Motion passed with roll call vote. See voting log for details.

Bylaws update: Joe Clubb motioned to approve bylaws updates as presented. Seconded by Sarah Grosshuesch.

- Member comments: Baker, Reznikoff
- Support for bylaw changes

Motion passed with roll call vote. See voting log for details.

Settlement Dashboard Update: Dashboard will be live for the public on June 3rd. Dashboard administrator, Weston Merrick, will present at the June 21st meeting. Council noted that the dashboard is live in advance of the required date and showed appreciation to MMB.

OERAC Chair, Dr. Kathy Nevins gave congratulations to OERAC and DHS support staff on the funding OERAC has presented to communities. News release on recent OERAC contracts will be published soon.

Additional Funding Discussion

Amanda Langston, DHS staff, gave a recap of April meeting discussion. There is \$871,959 in unspent funds available for OERAC to distribute. There were two main options identified for allocation, to the 2024 OERAC Request for Proposal (RFP) or to the State's naloxone portal.

DHS employees explored funding projections for State's naloxone portal to inform OERAC's decision. There are four funding streams currently set aside for portal, but there are no ongoing funds from DHS or the legislature. Administrators of the state portal wanted to draw awareness to the fact that OERAC funds are flexible and can be spent on innovative programs, while there are federal funds that have more restrictions but can be used for the naloxone portal.

Joe Clubb, OERAC Vice Chair, began the discussion by restating the two allocation options.

- Member comments: Clubb, Reznikoff, Hughes, Martin, Farley, Baker, Broekemeier, Nevins
- Council members acknowledged there is still a need for naloxone across Minnesota, drawing on the SUDORS data presented in April meeting.
- There was clarification that funds cannot be directly set aside in RFP process for certain communities, but there are priorities in funding within the competitive grant process. The RFP gives the opportunity to community organizations who distribute naloxone to greater Minnesota, outside the State's portal. The RFPs flexibility in supporting community organizations was acknowledged. Recognized that this funding was left over from previous OERAC RFPs.
- Discussion of the naloxone portal, specifically on if there are gaps in funding and how the portal tracks the naloxone distributions. Council recognized portal has had pauses.
 - O Jen Sather stated that the portal has been funded mainly by federal dollars. There are consistent appropriations being looked at to support the portal. The portal does produce data on who receives the naloxone. Primarily, mandated groups and SSPs have been utilizing the portal, with community organizations having the most interaction.

Joe Clubb showed appreciation for the in-depth discussion. Reviewed council member comments on the need for naloxone in Minnesota and on the flexibility of the RFP, including supporting organizations that distribute naloxone.

Kathy Nevins motioned to allocate the \$871,959 to the OERAC 2024 RFP. Seconded by Dave Baker.

- Member comments: Broekemeier, Reznikoff, Napier
- Recognize RFP can give funding to organizations that distribute naloxone to different communities, without the State's portal.
- Emphasis to continuously watch the State's naloxone portal during the year and discuss its' sustainability.

Motion passed with roll call vote. See voting log for details.

Rx Summit

Alicia Baker, DHS Staff, gave presentation on key takeaways from Rx and Illicit Drug Summit in Atlanta, Georgia in April 2024.

- Member comments: Schoen
- Recently met with Dakota leaders, on subject of new healthcare facility in Shakopee, MN. Question on allowable expenses for funding and timing of RFP. Clarification that there will be a responders' conference once the OERAC RFP is public and the details will be shared with the council and greater community.

Methadone Update by Dr. Charles Reznikoff was moved to the June 21st meeting.

Adjourn

OERAC Chair Dr. Kathy Nevins adjourned the May 2024 meeting.

Next meeting: June 21st, 10:00AM -2:00PM

Roll Call and Voting Log

May 17, 2024

P = in person R = remote participant A = absent

Member	Attendance status	Minutes approval for	Vote: By-laws	Vote: Available funding (\$871,959) will
		4/19/24	Dy-IdWS	be put into the 2024 RFP
Dr. Kathy Nevins	R	Α	Α	A
Joe Clubb	R	Α	Α	Α
Rep. Dave Baker	R	А	А	Α
Dr. Heather Bell	R	Α	Α	Α
Sadie Broekemier	R	Α	А	А
Peter Carlson	R	Α	Α	А
Irene Folstrom	Α	-	-	-
Dr. Ashwin George	Α	-	-	-
Sarah Grosshuesch	R	А	Α	А
Pam Hughes	R	Α	Α	А
Rep. Erin Koegel	Α	-	-	-
Senator Bill Lieske	Α	-	-	-
Jack Martin	R	Α	А	N
Senator Kelly Morrison	Α	-	-	-
Toni Napier	R	Α	А	А
Brock Reed	R	Α	А	A
Dr. Charlie Reznikoff	Р	Α	ABSTAIN	A
Kristi Schoen	R	Α	А	A
Judge Nicole Starr	R	Α	А	N
Dr. Antony Stately	Α	-	-	-
Dana Farley	R			
Jolene Rebertus	Α			
Eric Grumdahl/Kristine Preston	Р			
Tally	voting members	Motion to	Motion: Clubb	Motion:
	present= 16	approve: Schoen	Second:	Nevins
	absent= 4	Second: Baker	Grosshuesch	Second:
		Motion	Motion approved.	Baker
		approved.		Motion approved.