

STATE ADVISORY COUNCIL ON MENTAL HEALTH

and Subcommittee on Children's Mental Health

April 10, 2020

The Honorable Tim Walz Governor of Minnesota 130 State Capitol 75 Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd St. Paul, MN 55155

Dear Governor Walz,

We are contacting you today on behalf of the Minnesota State Advisory Council on Mental Health and the Subcommittee on Children's Mental Health. We ask you to make an investment in our state's telepresence platform to allow for continued and expanded use of the system during the COVID-19 crisis and beyond.

The DHS/MNIT owned-and-operated telepresence network provides secure, encrypted, HIPAA compliant connections to over 6000 users –which include Minnesota tribal nations, counties, law enforcement, courts, schools, mental health providers, other human service agencies, and those they serve. In order to continue to serve our communities and provide these critical services during the COVID-19 pandemic, we need to ensure this telepresence platform is strong and able to withstand the continually and rapidly increasing number of users. Funding in the amount of \$2 million is needed to upgrade the DHS/MNIT telepresence system.

In addition to these upgrades, we are asking that efforts be made to ensure Minnesotans have internet access and the devices needed (tablets/smartphones) to access telemedicine services. We also request the Department of Health and the Department of Commerce ensure mental health and substance use disorder telehealth services are processed and paid on par with medical telehealth services.

Please make this investment in our state's telepresence platform to allow us to continue to serve our communities in this time of crisis. This is a One Minnesota investment that supports ALL Minnesotans including the marginalized, often overlooked, and most vulnerable among us to access vital mental health services.

Sincerely,

Michelle Schmid-Egleston

Co-Chair

Subcommittee on Children's Mental Health

mela Schol Sefen

Dave Lee, MA, LP, LMFT, LICSW

Sand I

Chair

State Advisory Council on Mental Health



STATE ADVISORY COUNCIL ON MENTAL HEALTH

and Subcommittee on Children's Mental Health

Jeffrey Lind

Co-Chair

Subcommittee on Children's Mental Health

Michael Trangle, MD

michael The

Vice-Chair

State Advisory Council on Mental Health

CC: Lt. Governor Peggy Flanagan, Hali Kolkind (Governor's Policy Lead for PHHS), Dominic McQuerry (Governor's Policy Lead for Broadband Development), Rep. Patty Acomb, Rep. Tony Albright, Rep. Paul Anderson, Rep. Jeff Backer, Rep. Kristin Bahner, Rep. Cal Bahr, Rep. Dave Baker, Rep. Jamie Becker-Finn, Rep. Peggy Bennett, Rep. Connie Bernardy, Rep. Robert Bierman, Rep. Greg Boe, Rep. Jeff Brand, Rep. Hunter Cantrell, Rep. Andrew Carlson, Rep. Lyndon Carlson, Sr., Rep. Michelle (Shelly) Christensen, Rep. Anne Claflin, Rep. Jack Considine Jr., Rep. Brian Daniels, Rep. Kurt Daudt, Rep. Greg Davids, Rep. Jim Davnie, Rep. Raymond Dehn, Rep. Lisa Demuth, Rep. Bob Dettmer, Rep. Steve Drazkowski, Rep. Rob Ecklund, Rep. Heather Edelson, Rep. Steve Elkins, Rep. Sondra Erickson, Rep. Dan Fabian, Rep. Peter Fischer, Rep. Mary Franson, Rep. Mike Freiberg, Rep. Pat Garofalo, Rep. Aisha Gomez, Rep. Steve Green, Rep. Matt Grossell, Rep. Glenn Gruenhagen, Rep. Bob Gunther, Rep. Barb Haley, Rep. Laurie Halverson, Rep. Rod Hamilton, Rep. Rick Hansen, Rep. Hodan Hassan, Rep. Alice Hausman, Rep. John Heinrich, Rep. Josh Heintzeman, Rep. Kaohly Her, Rep. Jerry Hertaus, Rep. Frank Hornstein, Rep. Melissa Hortman, Rep. Michael Howard, Rep. John Huot, Rep. Brian Johnson, Rep. Tony Jurgens, Rep. Debra Kiel, Rep. Ginny Klevorn, Rep. Erin Koegel, Rep. Carlie Kotyza-Witthuhn, Rep. Jon Koznick, Rep. Ron Kresha, Rep. Mary Kunesh-Podein, Rep. Sandy Layman, Rep. Fue Lee, Rep. Tina Liebling, Rep. Ben Lien, Rep. Leon Lillie, Rep. Todd Lippert, Rep. Dave Lislegard, Rep. Diane Loeffler, Rep. Jamie Long, Rep. Eric Lucero, Rep. Dale Lueck, Rep. Tim Mahoney, Rep. Alice Mann, Rep. Carlos Mariani, Rep. Paul Marquart, Rep. Sandra Masin, Rep. Joe McDonald, Rep. Shane Mekeland, Rep. Tim Miller, Rep. Kelly Moller, Rep. Rena Moran, Rep. Kelly Morrison, Rep. Jeremy Munson, Rep. Mary Murphy, Rep. Jim Nash, Rep. Michael Nelson, Rep. Anne Neu, Rep. Mohamud Noor, Rep. Bud Nornes, Rep. Tim O'Driscoll, Rep. Liz Olson, Rep. Marion O'Neill, Rep. Gene Pelowski, Jr., Rep. John Persell, Rep. John Petersburg, Rep. Nels Pierson, Rep. Dave Pinto, Rep. Jeanne Poppe, Rep. John Poston, Rep. Laurie Pryor, Rep. Duane Ouam, Rep. Jason Rarick, Rep. Ruth Richardson, Rep. Kristin Robbins, Rep. Linda Runbeck, Rep. Steve Sandell, Rep. Julie Sandstede, Rep. Duane Sauke, Rep. Joe Schomacker, Rep. Jennifer Schultz, Rep. Peggy Scott, Rep. Zack Stephenson, Rep. Mike Sundin, Rep. Chris Swedzinski, Rep. Brad Tabke, Rep. Tama Theis, Rep. Paul Torkelson, Rep. Dean Urdahl, Rep. Samantha Vang, Rep. Bob Vogel, Rep. Jean Wagenius, Rep. Ami Wazlawik, Rep. Nolan West, Rep. Ryan Winkler, Rep. Dan Wolgamott, Rep. Tou Xiong, Rep. Jay Xiong, Rep. Cheryl Youakim, Rep. Nick Zerwas, Sen. Jim Abeler, Sen. Bruce Anderson, Sen. Paul Anderson, Sen. Thomas Bakk, Sen. Michelle Benson, Sen. Karla Bigham, Sen. Jim Carlson, Sen. Roger Chamberlain, Sen. Bobby Joe Champion, Sen. Gregory Clausen, Sen. Richard Cohen, Sen. Steve Cwodzinski, Sen. Gary Dahms, Sen. D Scott Dibble, Sen. Rich Draheim, Sen. Kari Dziedzic, Sen. Chris Eaton, Sen. Justin Eichorn, Sen. Kent Eken, Sen. Melisa Franzen, Sen. Nick Frentz, Sen. Paul Gazelka, Sen. Michael Goggin, Sen. Dan Hall, Sen. Foung Hawj, Sen. Jeff Hayden, Sen. John Hoffman, Sen. Karin Housley, Sen. Jeff Howe, Sen. Bill Ingebrigtsen, Sen. Jason Isaacson, Sen. John Jasinski, Sen. Scott Jensen, Sen. Mark Johnson, Sen. Susan Kent, Sen. Mary Kiffmeyer, Sen. Matt Klein, Sen. Mark Koran, Sen. Carolyn Laine, Sen. Andrew Lang, Sen. Ron Latz, Sen. Warren Limmer, Sen. Matt Little, Sen. John Marty, Sen. Andrew Mathews, Sen. Jeremy Miller, Sen. Carla Nelson, Sen. Scott Newman, Sen. Jerry Newton, Sen. David Osmek, Sen. Sandra Pappas, Sen. Eric Pratt, Sen. Jason Rarick, Sen. Jerry Relph, Sen. Ann Rest, Sen. Julie Rosen, Sen. Carrie Ruud, Sen. David Senjem, Sen. Erik Simonson, Sen. Dan Sparks, Sen. David Tomassoni, Sen. Patricia Torres Ray, Sen. Paul Utke, Sen. Bill Weber, Sen. Torrey Westrom, Sen. Charles Wiger, and Sen. Melissa Wiklund