and Subcommittee on Children's Mental Health

# Workgroup Roster

## Family Systems Prevention, Intervention, & Supports

• Support safe, stable, nurturing relationships and environments for families and children in order to promote positive outcomes and community resilience

Meeting Time: 3rd Monday of the month, 2pm-3pm

Anna Lynn, Chair Lisa Hoogheem (Diversity Workgroup Rep) Angie Schmitz Tom Delaney Jennifer Bertram Addyson Moore (interested) Jennifer Pederson (interested) Beth Prewett (interested)

### Integrated Care & Access

- Review relevant state and federal care/coverage policies and proposals
- Provide recommendations for the purpose of supporting those policies/proposals that improve overall health, resilience, and recovery for individuals experiencing mental health issues
- Promote evidence-based best practices to help MN measurably improve access/outcomes of mental health and substance use disorder care

Meeting Time: 3rd Tuesday of the month, 8am-9am

#### Michael Trangle, Chair

Dave Lee Sam Smith (Diversity Workgroup Rep) Rodney Peterson Claudia Daml Kenneth Moorman Mary Kjosling Claire Courtney Robert Bosl Courtney Iverson Claudette Larson Diane Medchill Cynthie Christensen



and Subcommittee on Children's Mental Health

#### Local Advisory Council

- Assist Local Advisory Councils in providing education and support for building strong communities that serve individuals with mental illness while promoting self-advocacy at the local and state level
- Provide support to counties to develop and refine the efficacy of their mental health advisory councils

Meeting Time: Wednesday prior to first Thursday full Council/Subcommittee meeting, 3:30-4:30

**Rozenia Fuller, Chair** Alison Wolbeck Nancy Ramon

## Mental Health & Juvenile Justice

• Raise awareness of and advocate for needed improvements in Minnesota's Mental Health system pertaining to children and youth involved in or at risk of involvement in the juvenile justice system

Meeting Time: 3rd Wednesday of the month, 10am-11am

Cici Hughes, Co-Chair Melissa Dau, Co-Chair Linda Hansen (Diversity Workgroup Rep) BraVada Garrett-Akinsanya Jeffrey Lind Corey Harland Stephanie Podulke Angie Schmitz Michael Gallagher Rod Peterson Angie Hirsch

### Mental Health & Schools

• Focus on access and improvement of mental health services in school settings for children and adolescents living with mental health concerns and emotional and behavioral disorders

Meeting Time: 3rd Tuesday of the month, 3:30pm-4:30pm

Lisa Hoogheem, Co-chair (Diversity Workgroup Rep) Samantha Hedden, Co-Chair Kim Stokes Maleenia Mohabir Al Levin Amy Jones



and Subcommittee on Children's Mental Health

Ellie Miller Deb Peterson Meredith Jones

## Outreach to Cultural Diversity

- Review the evidence of mental health disparities in health care
- Recommend ways to eliminate those disparities to improve access to quality care
- Increase the proportion of racial minority providers in the Mental Health Workforce to better reflect the diversity in the general population of the State of Minnesota

Meeting Time: 3rd Wednesday of the month 2pm-3pm

## BraVada Garrett-Akinsanya, Co-chair

Jode Freyholtz-London, Co-chair Sam Smith Mary Kjolsing Lisa Hoogheem Linda Hansen Jennifer Bertram Ashwak Hassan Dawn Ammesmaki David Nathan Tabatha Amundson Claudia Daml (potential member) Donna Lekander (potential member)

### **Recovery Supports**

- Review policy, advocate for evidence-based programs and endorse the effective/efficient use of state funding in critical recovery areas such as housing, employment and community support programs
- Advocate for an increase in available, affordable and supportive housing
- Sustain and expand Individual Placement & Support (IPS) supported employment program throughout the state
- Expand the use of Peer Specialists throughout the state
- Explore ways to promote community support and social relationships for people of all ages with mental illness

Meeting Time: 3rd Monday of the month, 10am-11am

and Subcommittee on Children's Mental Health

Angie Schmitz, Chair Sara Gable Gary Travis Claire Courtney Jode Freyholtz-London (Diversity Workgroup Rep) Addyson Moore (potential member) Mary Kjolsing (potential member)

#### Mental Health Awareness at the State Fair Planning

Meeting Time: Wednesday before full Council/Subcommittee meeting, 2pm-3pm

Dave Lee, Chair

Alison Wolbeck Dave Johnson Sara Carothers Claire Courtney Kim Stokes Mary Kjolsing (Diversity Workgroup Rep) Anna Lynn Sarah Fuerst Donna Lekander Cynthie Christensen Tanya Carter

### Grant/RFP

In development

#### Michelle Schmid-Egleston, Chair

Beth Prewett Jennifer Pedersen Jode Freyholtz-London Jennifer Pedersen Claudia Daml Addyson Moore Maleenia Mohabir Cynthie Christensen

#### Members not committed to a workgroup

Amanda Larson Dave Lislegard Gertrude Matemba-Mutasa Jamaica DelMar Jim McDonough Pa Kong Lee



and Subcommittee on Children's Mental Health

Shanna Langston Danny Porter Ed Morales Elise Holmes Kimberly Baker